Deadline for this year's application is April 30, 2020 

If you wish, you can send for information to: 

FAR Scholarship Committees
P.O. Box 911
Columbia, MD 21044

YLRL Scholarships

The Young Ladies’ Radio League also provides two scholarships of $2000.00 each year. These scholarships are offered in memory of two of the founding mothers – Ethel Smith, K4LMB, and Mary Lou Brown, NM7M. The Mary Lou Brown scholarship was created posthumously to honor her immense contribution to the organization. She was not only a past President, but was extremely active with the scholarship fund. After her death it seemed fitting to honor her with a scholarship in her name.

The scholarships are granted to "worthy Young Ladies for continuing their education, with preference given to those in academic study of communications and electronics or related arts and sciences" as according  to the YLRL by-laws.  A ham licence is currently mandatory for all scholarships being administered by the Foundation for Amateur Radio (FAR) as these three are.

At the convention in Vancouver, WA in 2014, the officers created a new 3rd Scholarship to honor Marte Wessel KØEPE.  Marte was the driving force for the Scholarship Drive every 3 years.  This year marked a banner year, raising a total of $4,658.  Unfortunately Marte became a Silent Key on Sept 23, 2014.  Marte will be missed, but her memory will live long.


The Young Ladies Radio League sponsors three scholarships:
·         The Ethel Smith, K4LMB, Memorial Scholarship which pays $2,000.
·         The Mary Lou Brown, NM7N, Memorial Scholarship which pays $2,000.
·         The Martha Marte” Wessel, KØEPE, Memorial Scholarship which pays $1,000.

  • a. Applicants must be female and
  • b. Hold at least an FCC Technician Class or equivalent foreign authorization and
  • c. Intend to seek a Bachelor’s or Graduate degree from a U.S. college or university.

There are no residence restrictions and non-US Amateurs are eligible.  Preference will be given to students studying communications, electronics, or related arts and sciences.  The Ethel Smith and Mary Lou Brown scholarships will be awarded to full-time students.  The Martha “Marte” Wessel, KØEPE, Memorial Scholarship is intended for a part-time student who is working full time while a student.

The cut–off date for applications is April 30, 2020

Here is a link to the scholarship application form. Please publish it to your organization and anywhere else you feel might get it into the eyes of prospective applicants.

2019 FAR Application

Prospective applicants can also access the form at 

Linda Hynan AC5QQ
1312 Western Ridge Drive

Waco, TX 7671